How to Make Affordable Bridesmaid Proposal Boxes

Day 466: It’s a new trend to “propose” to your bridesmaids with boxes full of candy, jewelry, pictures and notes. Normally, I would think this is just another ploy created by the wedding industry to squeeze more money out of us, but last year I received a bridesmaids box in the mail and honestly,  I loved it. It’s an especially wonderful idea for bridesmaids who live far away so you wouldn’t able to ask them in person.

I’ve chosen 6 women to be with me throughout my entire wedding day and stand by my side while I marry the man I love. I want them to feel incredibly loved and appreciated, so I decided to make a bridesmaid box for each of them.

IMG_3551

I found that I could do it for about $5 per box.

Here’s what you will need:

  • Small box – $1.00
  • Tissue paper (8 sheets) – $1.00
  • Flower seeds – $0.25
  • Chocolate (6 pieces per bag) – $1.00
  • Puffy paint – $1.49
  • Cardstock paper – $3.97
  • Small wine or champagne (4 bottles/ carton) – $7.99

IMG_3574

I made six boxes so I purchased:

  • 6 boxes from Dollar Tree – $6.00
  • 2 sleeves of tissue paper (16 sheets total) from Dollar Tree – $2.00
  • 6 flower seed packets from Dollar Tree – $1.50
  • 2 bags of chocolate (12 pieces total) from Dollar Tree – $2.00
  • 1 puffy paint from JoAnn Fabrics – $1.49
  • 1 pack of Neenah cardstock paper from JoAnn Fabrics – $3.97
  • 2 cartons of Sutter Home wine (8 total) from my local liquor store – $15.98

Add it all up and I spent $32.94 total. That equals $5.49 per boxIf you look on Etsy, you’ll find bridesmaid proposal boxes range from $10 – $30 each.

IMG_3570

 

I designed “unofficial” save the dates on Canva.com and printed them on cardstock at home. Joe and I haven’t ordered actual save the dates just yet. Only 466 more days to go!

Also on Canva, I designed “Will you be my bridesmaid?” cards and wrote sweet notes on the back of each one. My maid of honor got a special note that was inspired by a funny letter I found online.

IMG_3577

 

I plan on giving these boxes to friends in town and mailing them to friends that live far away to save shipping expenses. They’re not extravagant, but I have the type of friends who really appreciate small gestures of love and friendship.

Leave a Reply

